
Guadalupe County Small Estate Affidavit Checklist 
 

Texas Estates Code Chapter 205 dealing with Small Estate Affidavits generates much confusion.  Banks, 

insurance companies, and title companies often tell individuals to file a Small Estate Affidavit (SEA) without 

considering the limited circumstances in which an SEA can be granted. Individuals then fill out a form without 

reading the statute and without understanding Texas intestacy law.  They pay a $395 filing fee and expect 

approval.  But many SEAs are denied for problems that cannot be corrected, and the denied applicants lose their 

filing fees.  Many other SEAs cannot be approved without amendment. 

Before filing an SEA, carefully review this checklist and the attached charts regarding Texas rules for who takes 

what property when the decedent didn’t have a will (rules for descent and distribution). See also the requirements 

for SEAs in Chapter 205 of the Texas Estates Code and the rules for descent and distribution in Chapter 201. To 

prepare an SEA that the Court can approve, you need to understand all of the rules and requirements. The 

complexity of the Code poses many pitfalls for non-lawyers – and even some lawyers – attempting to comply 

with the requirements. An attorney’s assistance in drafting an SEA may prevent the denial of an Affidavit that 

might have been approved if the Affidavit had been prepared correctly. 
 

This checklist explains the basics, but the list does not cover everything included in Chapters 201 and 205. 

1. Use the most recent SEA form on the Guadalupe County Probate Court’s website.  To increase the 

chances that an SEA will include all necessary information, the Court requires that applicants use the SEA 

form that is available on the Court’s website. If necessary, include extra pages to provide additional 

information. The SEA must be completed by persons who have actual knowledge of the stated facts. 

2. Death Certificate.  The Guadalupe County Probate Court requires a death certificate to be submitted with 

all SEAs. Death certificates should be hand delivered or mailed to the clerks; or emailed to the Court 

Coordinator. An easily readable copy is fine.  Cross out the social security number. 

3. Cannot be filed within 30 days of Decedent’s death.  (Wait long enough to be sure you have all bills.) 

4. County where Decedent resided. An SEA should be filed in the county where Decedent resided if Decedent 

had a domicile or fixed place of residence in Texas. If that’s not Guadalupe County, add facts to support 

venue in Guadalupe County.  Granting an SEA is in the Court’s discretion; it is unusual for the Court to 

approve an SEA for a Decedent who did not have a fixed place of residence in Guadalupe County. 

5. No Will.  By statute, an SEA cannot be used where Decedent left a will. Applicants must swear that the 

Decedent died without a will.  If Decedent had a will, you will need to use a different probate procedure. 

6. No Administration.  An SEA cannot be approved if a petition for the appointment of a personal 

representative is pending or has been granted or if it appears that an administration is needed. 

7. Decedent’s Estate Assets. 

 List everything.  The SEA must list all of Decedent’s known estate assets – not just some of them. 
Assets are any property owned that has monetary value, including cash or bank accounts, real estate, 

vehicles, and household furnishings. 

 Indicate value.  Indicate the value of each asset as precisely as possible. An SEA cannot be approved 

with any asset of “unknown value.” 

 Limited estate. The SEA must show that the total estate assets are $75,000 or less, not including the 

homestead (see below) and exempt property (see below). 

 Provide sufficient detail. Describe each asset with enough detail to make it clear exactly what property 

is being transferred by Affidavit.  For example, give VIN numbers for cars and give the last four digits of 

any account numbers, along with the name of bank or other entity holding the funds. 
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 Exempt property.  If decedent is survived by a spouse, minor children, or unmarried adult children who 

lived with decedent, the list of known estate assets must indicate which assets you claim are exempt.  If 

you claim any assets are exempt, add this information in the “additional information” column on the SEA 

form.  Exempt assets are those that are exempt from forced execution under Chapter 42 of the Texas 

Property Code and that would be eligible to be set aside under Estates Code Section 353.051 if decedent’s 

estate were being administered.  Exempt assets include home furnishings, farm animals, and some other 

property, as well as decedent’s pension benefits and IRAs.  Insurance benefits are also exempt.  You may 

want to consult with an attorney regarding which assets are exempt. 

 If Decedent was married at the date of death, you must also add the following in the “additional 

information” column on the SEA form: 

 State whether each asset was Decedent’s community property or Decedent’s separate property (see 

definitions on the form). 

 For each asset, give the facts that explain why the asset was community or separate property.  For 

real property, indicate the date the real property was acquired, in addition to other facts. 

 Real property: homestead to homestead.  The only real property that can be transferred by an SEA is 

Decedent’s homestead property.  Even then, real property cannot be transferred by an SEA unless the 

real property will be inherited only by an heir who was homesteading with the Decedent at the time 

Decedent died – a surviving spouse or unmarried child of Decedent who resided on property with 

Decedent.  If this is the case, the SEA must include sufficient facts to support the homestead exemption 

and must also include the legal description and street address of the property. 

8. Decedent’s Debts / Liabilities. 

 List everything.  The SEA must list all of Decedent’s debts and other liabilities, including all credit card 

balances, doctor or hospital bills, utility bills, etc. – anything owed by Decedent or Decedent’s estate and 

not paid off.  The SEA must list any attorney’s fees paid or to be paid for preparation of the Affidavit.  If 

attorney’s fees are not listed as an estate liability, whoever paid the fees is responsible for those fees; the 

SEA will not have the estate reimburse that person for those fees. If there are no debts or liabilities, 

indicate “none.” 

 Provide sufficient detail.  Indicate the amount of each liability as precisely as possible, describing the 

debt or other liability with sufficient detail so that it is clear who the creditor is. Also indicate at least the 

last four digits of any known account numbers. 

9. Solvent.  The total of estate assets – not including homestead and exempt property – must exceed the total 

of known liabilities (not including debts secured by homestead and exempt property).  If they do not, the 

SEA must be denied.  Distributees can pay off enough debts that the assets exceed the remaining liabilities. 

10. Medicaid.  The SEA must indicate whether the Decedent applied for and received Medicaid benefits on or 

after March 1, 2005. If so, Applicant must either (1) list as a liability the amount owed to Medicaid or (2) file 

a Medicaid Estate Recovery Program (MERP) certification that Decedent’s estate is not subject to a MERP 

claim or (3) include additional information proving that a MERP claim will not be filed. For more 

information, see https://hhs.texas.gov/sites/default/files//documents/services/aging/txmerpcertificationform.pdf 

11. Family history. The SEA must state the facts about Decedent’s marital and family history in sufficient detail 

to show both who inherits Decedent’s property under Texas law as well as the shares of those heirs under 

Texas law. Section K of the Court’s SEA form will lead you through the appropriate questions, except for 

relatively unusual situations, as long as you fill out the form carefully and completely. 

12. List all heirs. After you have filled out section K of the form completely, figure out the heirs and list them in 

section L of the form. 

 To figure out who the heirs are, look at the charts on pages 4-6 of this handout, which summarize Texas 

rules regarding descent and distribution based on Texas Estate Code Chapter 201. Decide which of the 

following four charts applies to Decedent, and then look at everything included in that chart: 

1. Married Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants 

2. Married Person with No Child or Descendant 

3. Unmarried Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants 

4. Unmarried Person with No Child or Descendant 

https://hhs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/documents/services/aging/txmerpcertificationform.pdf
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 In section L, list the name, address, phone number, and email address of every Distributee (heir) of 

Decedent’s estate.  If Decedent was married, you must list heirs for every type of property, even if 

you don’t think there was any property of a particular type. 

13. Minor heirs.  The Guadalupe County Probate Court will not approve an SEA with a minor heir unless all 

estate assets the minor heir(s) will inherit can be placed in the registry of the Court until the heir turns 18. 

14. List correct inheritance shares.  In “L” of the Court’s approved SEA form, you must list the shares of each 

Distributee in every possible type of property. In every SEA, fill out both “separate property” columns. 

Always fill out the “community property” column if the Decedent was married when he or she died.  To 

figure out shares, see the appropriate chart on pages 4-6 of this handout. 

 If Decedent was married at the date of death, the SEA must state the shares of each Distributee in all 

three types of property: separate personal property, separate real property, and Decedent’s share of the 

community property. (The surviving spouse will retain his or her own share of the community property.) 

It is not sufficient to say that there was no separate property or no separate real property. 

 If Decedent was single at the date of death, there is no community property.  Put “NA” in the 

community property column. 

15. Signed and sworn to by all Distributees. 

 If you need more than one signature page, use as many signature pages as needed, but note that every 
signature page must include all the italicized, boxed statements regarding what the Distributees are 

swearing or affirming, what the Distributees are requesting, and what those who sign the Affidavit could 

be liable for. See the italicized paragraphs in the box above the Distributees’ signature lines on the 

Court’s SEA form (at the top of page 7 of the pdf version of the form). 

 Every Distributee who has legal capacity must sign and swear to the Affidavit before a notary. 

 Is there a minor or otherwise incapacitated Distributee?  If warranted by the facts, the natural 

guardian or next of kin of any minor Distributee or the guardian of any other incapacitated Distributee 

may sign and swear to the Affidavit on behalf of the minor or otherwise incapacitated Distributee.  The 

fact that someone is signing and swearing on behalf of someone else must be clear from the signature. 

 For a minor, if SEA Section K does not show why the person has the authority to sign on the minor’s 

behalf, provide proof the person signing for the minor is the minor’s natural guardian or next of kin. 

 For an otherwise incapacitated Distributee, provide letters of guardianship as proof that the person 

signing has authority to do so. 

 Is there a Distributee who survived Decedent, but who is now deceased?  If no personal representative 

has been appointed for a now-deceased Distributee, you cannot use the Small Estate Affidavit probate 

procedure and must file an Application to Determine Heirship.  If a personal representative has been 

appointed, the personal representative can sign on behalf of the now-deceased Distributee’s estate.  In that 

case, the fact that the personal representative is signing on behalf of the estate must be clear from the 

signature.  In addition, you must provide Letters Testamentary or Letters of Administration as proof that 

the person signing has authority to do so. 

 Is there a missing Distributee?  If you do not know where to find a Distributee, you cannot use the 

Small Estate Affidavit probate procedure and must file an Application to Determine Heirship.  Note that 

an Applicant for determination of heirship must be represented by an attorney. 

16. Sworn to by two disinterested witnesses:  Two disinterested witnesses must each sign and swear to the 

Affidavit before a notary.  These witnesses must be able to swear to all of the facts included in the SEA, not 

only the family history facts. Disinterested witnesses are witnesses who have no interest in Decedent’s estate 

and who do not inherit from Decedent under the laws of descent and distribution of the State of Texas.  As 

noted in the boxed, italicized statement on the SEA form above each disinterest witness’s signature, these 

witnesses – along with the Distributees – are liable for any damage or loss to any person that arises from a 

payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance on the affidavit. 

17. Possible hearing.  The Court usually does not require a hearing on SEA applications, but in some 

circumstances the Court may require a hearing before an SEA will be approved.  If a hearing is needed, the 

Court will contact you to set a hearing.  Do not set a hearing unless the Court has asked you to do so. 
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Texas Descent and Distribution1
 

The Legal Effect of Not Having a Will (for decedents dying after 9/1/1993) 

 

 
 

A. Decedent’s separate personal property (all that is not real property) (EC § 201.002(b)) 

 
 
 

 

1/3 to surviving 

spouse 

Children take 
2/3 equally 

 
 

 
 
 

B. Decedent’s separate real property (EC § 201.002(b)) 

 

 
Surviving 

spouse gets 1/3 

life estate 

 
 

Children take all 

equally, subject 

to surviving 

spouse's 1/3 life 

estate 

 
 
 
 

C. Dec e de nt’s s ha re of community 
property when all surviving children and 

descendants of deceased are also children or 
descendants of surviving spouse. 
(EC § 201.003(b)(2)) 

C. Dec e de nt’s s ha re of community 
property when there are children or other 

descendants from outside of the existing marriage 
on the date of decedent’s death (or if decedent 
died before September 1, 1993) (EC § 201.003(c)) 

 

 
 
 
 

All to surviving 
spouse 

 

 
 
 

 
 

. 

 

All to children, 

who take equally 

 

 
Surviving spouse 

takes none, but 

retains own 

share 

 
 
 

 

1 The charts in this handout illustrate the general rules of descent and distribution under Texas law. In addition to the statutory references noted throughout, see 
the following Texas Estates Code (EC) provisions, among others: § 201.101, Determination of Per Capita with Representation Distribution (fka per stirpes); 
§ 201.051 et seq., Matters Affecting Inheritance (including Adoption [§ 201.054] and Collateral Kindred of Whole and Half Blood [§ 201.057]); Advancements, 
§§ 201.151 & 201.152; and Requirement of Survival by 120 Hours, §§ 121.052 & 121.053 (see also §§ 121.151-121.153). 

1. Married Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants 

All separate real property will be 
owned outright by decedent’s 
child[ren] or other descendants 
when surviving spouse dies. 
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A. Decedent’s separate personal property (all that is not real property) (EC § 201.002(c)(1)) 

 
 
 
 
 

All to surviving 
spouse 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

B. Decedent’s separate real property (EC § 201.002) 
 

If decedent is survived by 
both mother and father.  EC 

§§ 201.001(c) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 
1/4 to 

father 

 
1/4 to 

mother 

 
1/2 to 

surviving 

spouse 

If decedent is survived (1) by 
mother or father and (2) by 

sibling(s) or their descendants. 
EC §§ 201.001(d)(1) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 
1/4 to 

surviving 

parent 

1/4 to 

siblings, 

etc. 

1/2 to 

surviving 

spouse 

If decedent is survived by 
mother or father, but is not 
survived by any sibling(s) or 
their descendants.  EC 

§§ 201.001(d)(2) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 

 
 

1/2 to 

surviving 

parent 

1/2 to 

surviving 

spouse 

If decedent is survived by neither parent, but 
is survived by sibling(s) or their descendants. 
EC §§ 201.001(e) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 

1/2 to 

siblings, 

etc. 

1/2 to 

surviving 

spouse 

If decedent is survived by no parent, no 
sibling, and no descendant of a sibling. 
EC § 201.002(d). 

 
 

 
All to 

surviving 

spouse 

 

C. Decedent’s share of community property (EC § 201.003(b)(1)) 

 
 
 
 

 

All to surviving 

spouse 

2. Married Person with No Child or Descendant 
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All to children, 

who take equally 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 

All property passes depending on who survived the decedent:1
 

 

If decedent is survived by both mother and 
father. EC § 201.001(c). 

 
 
 
 
 

1/2 of all property 

to father 

1/2 of all property 

to mother 

If decedent is survived (1) by mother or father 
and (2) by sibling(s) or their descendants. 
EC § 201.001(d)(1). 

 

 
 
 

1/2 to siblings or 
to descendants 

of deceased 

siblings 

1/2 to surviving 
parent 

If decedent is survived by mother or father,  
but is not survived by any sibling(s) or their 

descendants. EC § 201.001(d)(2). 

 
 
 
 
 

All to surviving 

parent 

If decedent is survived by neither parent, but 
 

is survived by sibling(s) or their descendants. 
 

EC § 201.001(e). 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 

 
All to siblings or 

to descendants 

of deceased 

siblings 

1 If none of the four situations above applies, see EC § 201.001(f)-(h). 

4.  Unmarried Person with No Child or Descendant 

3.  Unmarried Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants (EC § 201.001(b)) 


